RMT: RX input and xRingBufferAddToQueueSetWrite ...

kolban

RMT: RX input and xRingBufferAddToQueueSetWrite ...

Postby kolban » Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:29 am

This is a subtle one ... I'm studying the RMT RX input functions. I see that we can ask the RMT driver to create a ring buffer and get the handle to that ring buffer using "rmt_get_ringbuf_handler". Here comes the first part of the puzzle:

What is the "origin" on the ring buffer functions? They appear to be supplied as part of the FreeRTOS package but I haven't found any reference to their existence outside of ESP-IDF.... were they created by Espressif as FreeRTOS extensions?

Once we have a handle to the ring buffer, we might then want to be informed when new items are added to it. We can do this by calling xRingbufferReceive which polls/blocks on one ring buffer. However, if we have many sources of input (eg. multiple ring buffers or queues) then we might want to use a FreeRTOS Queue Set so that we can block on one or more potential sources becoming ready. The Ring Buffer functions seem to have a solution for this. There is a function called "xRingbufferAddToQueueSetWrite" that will add a ring buffer into a queue set. Awesome ... I can now block on the queue set and learn when the ring buffer becomes written to ...

But ... and here is the major question ...