[Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

User avatar
kolban
Posts: 1683
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA

[Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby kolban » Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:43 pm

A new code fragment is available here:

https://github.com/nkolban/esp32-snippe ... tatic_ip.c

The purpose of the fragment is to connect to an access point from our ESP32 using a static/fixed IP address as opposed to using DHCP for IP address allocation. The reason I am calling this out is because it has improved my coding workflow. I often find myself repeating the "edit, compile, flash, run, examine" cycle. When we use DHCP to be allocated an IP address there is a delay of a few seconds (at least in my environment) while the DHCP protocols are being exchanged and an IP given to the ESP32. Using a static IP address, I am finding that from the point of esp_wifi_connect() to the event indicating that I have an IP and am ready to start communicating becomes so quick that I don't perceive any delays. When one is doing a lot of reboots to test ... this can be a great boon.
Last edited by kolban on Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Free book on ESP32 available here: https://leanpub.com/kolban-ESP32

arao23
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby arao23 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:23 am

This is going to be super helpful. Thanks for sharing!

santanapablo1975
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:31 pm

Re: [Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby santanapablo1975 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:18 pm

Hello Mr Kolban

Thanks for your post, I already changed the IP for the wifi interface, now I would like to do it for the ethernet interface...

Do you think woul be possible? my impression is that stop_dhcp is not working yet for ethernet...

My goal is to connect my pc to the esp32 via ethernet interface with a cross cable, but I need some how to set up the ip in the esp32 for the ethernet interface...

What do you think? are my impressions ok at the moment?

Regards

Thanks in advance!

Juan

User avatar
kolban
Posts: 1683
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: [Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby kolban » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:39 pm

Howdy Juan,
Unfortunately I've no experience in using Ethernet with the ESP32 so can't help you yet. What are you using to connect your ESP32 to an Ethernet network? I'd love to try and play with Ethernet as well.

Neil
Free book on ESP32 available here: https://leanpub.com/kolban-ESP32

santanapablo1975
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:31 pm

Re: [Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby santanapablo1975 » Tue May 02, 2017 1:11 pm

Mr Kolban,

For the Ethernet test I used this board

http://www.waveshare.com/dp83848-ethernet-board.htm

And took the example from the ESP32 IDF with small change in the PHYADR1and create the pinout for pin CRS

Please let me know how your test was doing!

Regards!!!

Juan

Pratikm78
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: [Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby Pratikm78 » Fri Mar 04, 2022 9:25 am

It just does nothing. No ip is assigned.

I (10505) wifi:new:<1,1>, old:<1,1>, ap:<1,1>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
I (10515) wifi:station: f8:5e:a0:df:e5:cb join, AID=1, bgn, 40U
I (10515) web config: station f8:5e:a0:df:e5:cb join, AID=1
I (10515) web config: starting server
W (10665) wifi:<ba-add>idx:4 (ifx:1, f8:5e:a0:df:e5:cb), tid:0, ssn:9, winSize:64
I (44735) wifi:station: f8:5e:a0:df:e5:cb leave, AID = 1, bss_flags is 134243, bss:0x3ffd0270
I (44735) wifi:new:<1,0>, old:<1,1>, ap:<1,1>, sta:<255,255>, prof:1
W (44735) wifi:<ba-del>idx
I (44735) web config: station f8:5e:a0:df:e5:cb leave, AID=1

mmallimaci
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2023 11:14 pm

Re: [Info] Connecting to an access point with a fixed IP address ...

Postby mmallimaci » Mon Jun 19, 2023 11:25 pm

santanapablo1975 wrote:
Tue May 02, 2017 1:11 pm
Mr Kolban,

For the Ethernet test I used this board

http://www.waveshare.com/dp83848-ethernet-board.htm

And took the example from the ESP32 IDF with small change in the PHYADR1and create the pinout for pin CRS

Please let me know how your test was doing!

Regards!!!

Juan
Hi Juan,

I'm trying to connect an ESP32 Devkit V1 with the DP83848 of waveshare, is this the configuration that you said you could do?

I'm trying to do it, if you have any example code and wiring diagram I will be grateful.

Regards,

Marcelo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests