Board Flashed New Code but Running Older Code

kmmaran
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:20 am

Board Flashed New Code but Running Older Code

Postby kmmaran » Tue May 14, 2019 8:07 am

On WEMOS Lolin board V1.0, with one buttton Reset, how do you flash the board?
I can flash one time without holding any Reset button or pulling GPIO0 to GND, but if I flash second time (or how many time after that) with modified code, the board still running intial code. Any idea why is this?

At end of the flashing, shows below message, no matter how many time I flash, still running old code. Using Eclipse.

How do I flash modified code to the board?

C:/Users/Owner/esp/esp-idf/examples/get-started/blink/build/partitions_singleapp.bin
esptool.py v2.6
Serial port COM3
Connecting.....
Chip is ESP32D0WDQ6 (revision 0)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, Coding Scheme None
MAC: 24:0a:c4:80:ba:48
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 4MB
Flash params set to 0x0220
Compressed 23088 bytes to 13681...

Writing at 0x00001000... (100 %)
Wrote 23088 bytes (13681 compressed) at 0x00001000 in 1.2 seconds (effective 152.6 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 156592 bytes to 74651...

Writing at 0x00010000... (20 %)
Writing at 0x00014000... (40 %)
Writing at 0x00018000... (60 %)
Writing at 0x0001c000... (80 %)
Writing at 0x00020000... (100 %)
Wrote 156592 bytes (74651 compressed) at 0x00010000 in 6.6 seconds (effective 188.6 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 3072 bytes to 103...

Writing at 0x00008000... (100 %)
Wrote 3072 bytes (103 compressed) at 0x00008000 in 0.0 seconds (effective 1640.0 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting via RTS pin...

13:26:08 Build Finished (took 36s.641ms)

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 2832
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Board Flashed New Code but Running Older Code

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue May 14, 2019 8:45 am

Did you use OTA on this board at one time? If so, you may be booting from the 2nd OTA partition. Quick fix is to use esptool to erase the entire flash.

kmmaran
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:20 am

Re: Board Flashed New Code but Running Older Code

Postby kmmaran » Wed May 15, 2019 3:51 am

Thank you for your reply , let me try this, hoping to work.

kmmaran
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:20 am

Re: Board Flashed New Code but Running Older Code

Postby kmmaran » Wed May 15, 2019 5:08 am

I have looked at the flash "Single Factory App/ no ota". So I never do anything here.

I like to explain more , I have tried to build Interrupt GPIO from examples, (from example) GPIO 18 and 19, interrupt to GPIO 4 and 5, but if I change it to say GPIO 16 and 17 to GPIO 4 and 5, it never works, everything build and flashed but, it still running Interrupt from 18 and 19. Why, I cannot understand this , no matter which GPIO I change for IN and OUT, it always go back to GPIO 18 and 19, interrupt to GPIO 4 and 5.

How do I solve this, the incremental build is success but not working on the board. Not only for interrupt but for any of the examples program never worked if I modified the program. I cannot understand this.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests