Problems uploading code to esp32+cam

oldtecken

Problems uploading code to esp32+cam

Postby oldtecken » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:29 pm

Hello All,
This is my first post here and I am new to the esp32 board. I have bought a esp32+cam board. It is an ai thinker marked with esp32-s. The camera that comes with this board is an ov2640. I have installed arduino ide 1.8.9. Both the linux 32bit and windows 32 bit versions. Windows version is on XP (only version I have). I also have the raspbian stretch version on a rasp pi3b+ but cannot use this as the extra stuff required for the esp32 does not exist in arm format. I have downloaded the extra stuff needed for the esp32 using https://dl.espressif.com/dl/package_esp32_index.json
for both the linux and windows 32 bit versions. I also have an ftdi232 board. However, I have had no success in uploading anything to the esp32 board. The win driver for ftdi232 on XP is dated 2012. I have tried updating via windows but told no later driver but have seen later drivers for windows on web so this might be an issue. However, for most of my attempts I've used linux. I have tried using the instruction on the following sites But always get compiling errors.

1) https://randomnerdtutorials.com/install ... tructions/

2)https://robotzero.one/esp32-cam-arduino-ide/

I have tried to upload both "wifi scan" and "camera web server". The error outputs are shown bellow.

1. WiFi Scan

Arduino: 1.8.9 (Linux), Board: "AI Thinker ESP32-CAM"

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/root/.arduino15/packages/esp32/tools/esptool_py/2.6.1/esptool.py", line 37, in <module>
    import serial
ImportError: No module named serial
Multiple libraries were found for "WiFi.h"
 Used: /root/.arduino15/packages/esp32/hardware/esp32/1.0.2/libraries/WiFi
 Not used: /root/Applications/arduino-1.8.9/libraries/WiFi
exit status 1
Error compiling for board AI Thinker ESP32-CAM.
2. Camera Web Server

Arduino: 1.8.9 (Linux), Board: "AI Thinker ESP32-CAM"