I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

thoraz
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:02 pm

I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby thoraz » Tue Mar 03, 2020 10:49 am

I created a board with ESP32-WROOM module with the intent to program it through an external USB to UART dongle, but now I can't do it: Eclipse returns "A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP32: Timed out waiting for packet header". My schematic is the following

Image

and the dongle is like this one

Image

The signal TX0 on the module stay high (3.3V) while the RX0 seems to receive data. Are my connection in the schematic correct or I'm missing something?

mikemoy
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby mikemoy » Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:07 am

your missing a button on the EN line to reset it after you pull GPIO0 low to put it into programming mode.
Your also missing a pullup on GPIO0. I believe there is a internal pullup but you'd have to check that.

senudajayalath
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 8:00 am

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby senudajayalath » Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:16 am

mikemoy wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:07 am
your missing a button on the EN line to reset
According to thie official datasheet you do not need a reset button right ?
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (110.21 KiB) Viewed 8094 times

mikemoy
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby mikemoy » Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:22 am

You do not need a "button" but when flashing you need a way to pull EN low. His schematic has no provision for doing that.

chegewara
Posts: 2207
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:00 pm

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby chegewara » Mon Jan 04, 2021 3:14 am

mikemoy wrote: You do not need a "button" but when flashing you need a way to pull EN low. His schematic has no provision for doing that.
Actually you dont need to do it, its enough to pull down IO0 and then connect to power supply.

mikemoy
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby mikemoy » Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:07 pm

Actually you dont need to do it, its enough to pull down IO0 and then connect to power supply.
Sure, you can do it that way as well. But why bother when the EN and IO0 signals are built into the programming adapter. Just run the extra signal line. If your going to have a way to pull IO0 low, you might as well do the same for EN.

ESP_Minatel
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:06 pm

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby ESP_Minatel » Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:43 pm

Hi there!

Any progress on that?

It's quite important to keep signal LOW on GPIO0 during the BOOT process (after that you can release it to HIGH). Usually you have a auto program mode on most of development boards using two transistors on the serial DTR and RTS (see schematic below).


ESP_boot_circuit.png
ESP_boot_circuit.png (10.59 KiB) Viewed 7980 times


If you don't have this circuit embedded on your development board, you can create using a simple push button.

becorey
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:18 pm

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Postby becorey » Mon Jan 04, 2021 4:55 pm

Your schematic shows P_GND (39) not connected. That should be connected to ground.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pubsub and 58 guests