ADC for use with load cell

Globuli
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:53 pm

ADC for use with load cell

Postby Globuli » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:01 pm

Hi there!

Could I use the ESP32's ADC to read a 5kg load cell sensor such as this one:
http://www.robotshop.com/en/micro-load-cell-5-kg.html

I need a resolution of about +/- 0.5g

Would the "Ultra Low Noise Analog Pre-Amplifier" be of any help there?

Right now I'm using a HX711 24-Bit ADC with an RFduino board and was wondering if I could skip the HX711 with the ESP32.

Thank you so much helping me with the awesome ESP32 :)

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jul 06, 2017 1:30 am

In theory, yes. Unfortunately, as far as I'm aware, the LNA is not documented yet, so you may have to wait until it is.

WiFive
Posts: 2088
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby WiFive » Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:09 am

ESP_Sprite wrote:In theory, yes. Unfortunately, as far as I'm aware, the LNA is not documented yet, so you may have to wait until it is.
Less doom, more doc! ;)

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:25 am

I know you jest, but you have no idea how much Doom helped to squash the bugs out of the PSRAM code, and later on the mmap code. It started as a stupid thing, but I'm really glad I started that.

Also, seems I was wrong. The LNA actually is documented, around page 448 of the technical reference manual. We do not have a driver for it yet, though.

WiFive
Posts: 2088
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby WiFive » Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:18 am

Of course! I meant to imply sitting around playing it, not the porting.

Globuli
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby Globuli » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:43 am

Thank you very much for your replies :)

I'll give it some time then.

While we're at it: Do any of you know of an alternative to the ESP32 regarding ADC/amplifier capability? I'm only interested in BLE at the moment.

Thank you!

Micjm97219
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:46 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby Micjm97219 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:49 am

Hello! I'd love to be able to hook up a load cell directly to the ESP32 instead of having to use an additional ADC. Has there been any progress on this thread?

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests