ADC for use with load cell

Globuli
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:53 pm

ADC for use with load cell

Postby Globuli » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:01 pm

Hi there!

Could I use the ESP32's ADC to read a 5kg load cell sensor such as this one:
http://www.robotshop.com/en/micro-load-cell-5-kg.html

I need a resolution of about +/- 0.5g

Would the "Ultra Low Noise Analog Pre-Amplifier" be of any help there?

Right now I'm using a HX711 24-Bit ADC with an RFduino board and was wondering if I could skip the HX711 with the ESP32.

Thank you so much helping me with the awesome ESP32 :)

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 1608
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jul 06, 2017 1:30 am

In theory, yes. Unfortunately, as far as I'm aware, the LNA is not documented yet, so you may have to wait until it is.

WiFive
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby WiFive » Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:09 am

ESP_Sprite wrote:In theory, yes. Unfortunately, as far as I'm aware, the LNA is not documented yet, so you may have to wait until it is.


Less doom, more doc! ;)

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 1608
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:25 am

I know you jest, but you have no idea how much Doom helped to squash the bugs out of the PSRAM code, and later on the mmap code. It started as a stupid thing, but I'm really glad I started that.

Also, seems I was wrong. The LNA actually is documented, around page 448 of the technical reference manual. We do not have a driver for it yet, though.

WiFive
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby WiFive » Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:18 am

Of course! I meant to imply sitting around playing it, not the porting.

Globuli
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:53 pm

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby Globuli » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:43 am

Thank you very much for your replies :)

I'll give it some time then.

While we're at it: Do any of you know of an alternative to the ESP32 regarding ADC/amplifier capability? I'm only interested in BLE at the moment.

Thank you!

Micjm97219
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:46 am

Re: ADC for use with load cell

Postby Micjm97219 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:49 am

Hello! I'd love to be able to hook up a load cell directly to the ESP32 instead of having to use an additional ADC. Has there been any progress on this thread?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests