ESP32 Custom PCB Programming Issue

julcatsi

ESP32 Custom PCB Programming Issue

Postby julcatsi » Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:01 pm

Hello everyone,

This is my first time making a PCB for an esp32-c3 module and I have experience making PCBs with atmega chips. I had a very basic pcb made recently to test the most basic version of the board I could. I attached the schematic to this post. I soldered the board to headers and placed it onto a breadboard. I am using an external usb to serial converter to communicate with the board.

I hook up the RX, TX, GND, 5V, and EN pins to the respective pins on the usb to serial chip (EN to RST). I am able to receive serial messages from the esp32 board at 115200 baud rate. The board constantly says "invalid header: 0xffffffff" which from what I have researched is normal for a new chip. This lets me know that the communication to the board is correct.

I am using the Arduino IDE with the expressif esp32 board modules. I left the settings at default and have tried each of the esp32 boards.

How I am attempting to program the board I push boot and en so that the board says over serial:
"Build:Feb 7 2021
rst:0x1 (POWERON),boot:0x0 (USB_BOOT)
wait usb download"

Then I upload a blank sketch to the board. The terminal shows:
"esptool.py v3.1
Serial port COM4
Connecting........_____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____

A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP32: Timed out waiting for packet header
A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP32: Timed out waiting for packet header"

From what I have read online this seems to be an issue with the chip receiving the reset pulse to start programming.