HD signal on the SPI bus

hpeteranvin
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:44 am

HD signal on the SPI bus

Postby hpeteranvin » Mon Apr 18, 2022 4:28 pm

What is the function of the HD signal on the SPI bus? In particular, is there any way to use it for flow control purposes, such that the slave can indicate that it is not yet ready to return valid data and that the master (with ESP32-S2 as the master) will either not issue a clock pulse or ignore a clock pulse on which HD=? (0? 1?) is sampled?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: HD signal on the SPI bus

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Apr 19, 2022 3:27 am

HD is mostly a signal that is used in QSPI mode (where WP and HD of e.g. a flash chip are repurposed as D3/D4). I don't think the SPI peripheral can use it as an input aside from this purpose.

hpeteranvin
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:44 am

Re: HD signal on the SPI bus

Postby hpeteranvin » Sat May 14, 2022 1:27 am

Too bad. A flow control feature would be wonderful; unfortunately the board I'm working on doesn't have enough signals wired up to do QSPI (I'm doing DIO, though.)

What is really confusing to me is that HD appears to be an input in ESP32-x, but HOLD# is similarly an input on all flash chips I'm familiar with. So whatever function this pin has as an input in master mode is something totally different?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: HD signal on the SPI bus

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sat May 14, 2022 1:44 am

From what I recall, Hold on the ESP32 is a bidirectional pin. It's used as an input or output for QPI operations, and for non-QPI it gets assigned a static value.

hpeteranvin
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:44 am

Re: HD signal on the SPI bus

Postby hpeteranvin » Sat May 14, 2022 1:48 am

OK, that is *not* what the ESP32-S2 technical manual states.

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: HD signal on the SPI bus

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sat May 14, 2022 6:08 am

Then either the TRM (or how it can be interpreted) or my recollection is wrong. Can you point to where it says HD is an input?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests