What is CMake equivalent for a prebuilt third-party library?

jsam589

What is CMake equivalent for a prebuilt third-party library?

Postby jsam589 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:30 am

I am porting a make-based project to build using Cmake because I have updated to v4.x IDF. I know this may not be required, but Cmake seems to be favored by Espressif now. I have a third-party library (for a Bosch environmenal sensor).

The current make component.mk file has just this one line:
COMPONENT_ADD_LDFLAGS=$(COMPONENT_PATH)/libalgobsec.a

I am very new to Cmake and don't have a good idea what the equivalent should be in the CMakeLists.txt file.

Can someone tell me the syntax to use in my CMakeLists.txt file? Or at least what keywords I should be looking at?

Thanks!

ESP_Angus

Re: What is CMake equivalent for a prebuilt third-party library?

Postby ESP_Angus » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:39 pm

Hi jsam589,

You can do something like this in the component CMakeLists.txt file:

Code: Select all

target_link_libraries(${COMPONENT_LIB} "-L ${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR}")
target_link_libraries(${COMPONENT_LIB} algobsec)
EDIT: Changed COMPONENT_TARGET to COMPONENT_LIB.

The first line adds the component directory (which contains the binary library) to the linker search path, and the second line will populate the linker command line with "-lalgobsec".

If "libalgobsec" depends on some other libraries, add these after "algobsec" on the second invocation of "target_link_libraries".

Angus

jsam589

Postby jsam589 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:11 am

I tried pasting those two lines in verbatim, but then the build failed and said this command is not scriptable.
Could there be a different version of the command, or something that would go inside idf_component_register(...) which would be allowed?
Thanks!

CMake Error at /home/jsam/ESP40/idf_40b1_z/esp-idf/tools/cmake/component.cmake:225 (message):
CMake Error at
/home/jsam/Inspect2nd/CompSnd2/components/bme_bsec_lib/CMakeLists.txt:3
(target_link_libraries):