How to implement tcp_sent callback ?

salocinx

How to implement tcp_sent callback ?

Postby salocinx » Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:31 pm

Hi. I am a quite noob with C and ESP-IDF, but I managed to implement my own TCP protocol which let me communicate between a Java application and the ESP32. The application runs most of the time fine, but sometimes I get a heap corruption message. I believe this is because I am using a queue that manages pointers to a larger "network packet" struct. The heap corruption could occur because I free the memory for the outgoing "network packet" object as soon as the TCP socket's send() function returns. But I believe, that returning from the send() function not always means that the bytes are already completely sent. Therefore releasing the memory immediately after send() returns, can cause the heap corruption error (at least in my limited theory).

In order to prove/disprove my theory, I wanted to implement the lwIP's tcp_sent() callback function and releasing the memory reserved for the "network packet" object there. But I was not able to do it. Could somebody please tell me how I can implement this function? Best would be to extend the ESP-IDF TCP server socket example, since my code is based on that example.

Thank you!

ESP_Sprite

Re: How to implement tcp_sent callback ?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:58 am

Your theory is wrong; send() does not take away your ownership of the data being sent and as soon as send() returns you can modify or delete the buffer.

salocinx

Postby salocinx » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:49 am

Thanks for your answer! I meanwhile update the ESP-IDF to the latest master-branch and the problem has gone away. Was there a bug-fix in the lwIP package lately?

ESP_Sprite

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:02 pm