SNTP and static IP

Dig Kleppe
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:03 pm

SNTP and static IP

Postby Dig Kleppe » Fri May 22, 2020 2:15 pm

Not the first post about this:
I have set dhcp off, set IP, mask and gateway.
Set sntpservers to "8.8.8.8" and " 1.1.1.1"
From the ESP i can ping these addresses, so the gateway is ok.
No time. What am i missing?

I "solved" the problem by starting with DHCP, getting the time, and moving to a fixed IP.
There must be a better way!
I use the (very) latest 4.1 idf.

Thanks,
Dig

markkuk
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:50 am

Re: SNTP and static IP

Postby markkuk » Fri May 22, 2020 9:35 pm

1.1.1.1 and 8.8.8.8 are public DNS servers, not NTP servers. Use the pool.ntp.org servers for NTP/SNTP.

Dig Kleppe
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:03 pm

Re: SNTP and static IP

Postby Dig Kleppe » Sat May 23, 2020 2:06 pm

Hi markkuk
It would take 100 years for me to find out ...
It works with the right ips.
Thanks
Dig

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 32 guests