ESP-IDF ULP example does not fit in memory of custom project

User avatar
redradist
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 8:33 am

ESP-IDF ULP example does not fit in memory of custom project

Postby redradist » Sun Aug 30, 2020 10:54 am

When I was testing the example from https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/tr ... em/ulp_adc it worked

But then when I include the pieces of code in my project during compilation I got the following error:

esp32ulp-elf-ld: ulp_main section `.text' will not fit in region `ram'
esp32ulp-elf-ld: region `ram' overflowed by 140 bytes


Actually, I cannot figure out how to fit the example in memory ...

Any help will be appreciated ...

User avatar
redradist
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 8:33 am

Re: ESP-IDF ULP example does not fit in memory of custom project

Postby redradist » Sun Aug 30, 2020 1:52 pm

I have found solution by myself ...

I have opened menuconfig Component config -> ESP32-specific -> Enable Ultra Low Power Coprocessor (1024 reserve memory)

But I have previously added these flags in sdkconfig.ci, but it does not work ... strange ...

Maybe somebody know how to make sdkconfig.ci work ?

ESP-Marius
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:49 am

Re: ESP-IDF ULP example does not fit in memory of custom project

Postby ESP-Marius » Mon Aug 31, 2020 3:57 am

sdkconfig.ci are configs used when building apps in our CI system, so these by default won't do anything in your project.

Normally you would just set your config values using menuconfig, and these will be saved to sdkconfig. But if you want to set some default values without using menuconfig then this is possible by adding a file called sdkconfig.default, and then add your options there. See https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... g-defaults for more info.

User avatar
redradist
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 8:33 am

Re: ESP-IDF ULP example does not fit in memory of custom project

Postby redradist » Mon Aug 31, 2020 4:12 pm

ESP-Marius wrote:
Mon Aug 31, 2020 3:57 am
sdkconfig.ci are configs used when building apps in our CI system, so these by default won't do anything in your project.

Normally you would just set your config values using menuconfig, and these will be saved to sdkconfig. But if you want to set some default values without using menuconfig then this is possible by adding a file called sdkconfig.default, and then add your options there. See https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... g-defaults for more info.
Thanks for support, I will check ;)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tjaffey, Tomatendose and 112 guests