Page 1 of 1

Beginner on ESP32-S2-Kaluga

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:26 pm
by kevin1
I am using Eclipse 2020-06. I have setup a template project which builds ok.
Then flashing as listed in https://github.com/espressif/idf-eclips ... e-site-url
With error:

Code: Select all

A fatal error occurred: Invalid head of packet (0x50)
Adding "flash"'s dependency "all" to list of commands with default set of options.
Executing action: all (aliases: build)
Running ninja in directory c:\users\kevin\eclipse-workspace\kg1_hello_world\build
Executing "ninja all"...
Executing action: flash
Running esptool.py in directory c:\users\kevin\eclipse-workspace\kg1_hello_world\build
Executing "C:\Users\kevin\.espressif\python_env\idf4.1_py3.8_env\Scripts\python.exe D:\eclipse-workspace\esp-idf-v4.1\components/esptool_py/esptool/esptool.py -p COM11 -b 115200 --before default_reset --after hard_reset --chip esp32 write_flash @flash_project_args"...
esptool.py failed with exit code 2
Please see two attachments.
Any help much appreciated.
Kevin

Re: Beginner on ESP32-S2-Kaluga

Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 5:08 am
by chegewara
Im not eclipse user, so i dont know how to add it, but you have to add command to select target. With Cmake it is like that:

Code: Select all

idf.py set-target esp32s2

Re: Beginner on ESP32-S2-Kaluga

Posted: Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:22 pm
by Jamawa
From the console output it seems that the launch-target is set to a ESP32 instead of a ESP32-S2.
To check and edit, in the top of your Eclipse window you can find the launch target edit-box: the rightmost one in this picture saying Firstmate:
Screenshot 2020-10-17 at 14.12.46.png
Screenshot 2020-10-17 at 14.12.46.png (11.29 KiB) Viewed 3293 times
If you have a launch configuration, click the settings-wheel, otherwise click the down arrow and create a new configuration.
In that window you can select the target and the serial port, the example shows the esp32 as target:
Screenshot 2020-10-17 at 14.13.54.png
Screenshot 2020-10-17 at 14.13.54.png (24.37 KiB) Viewed 3293 times
I am guessing that yours does also. If so select esp32s2 in the target select box.

Hopefully that does the trick.

Re: Beginner on ESP32-S2-Kaluga

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:37 am
by ESP_kondalkolipaka
Please select esp32s2 in the launch target window as shown by @jamawa