Bluetooth: can't send passthrough commands when music is playing

gabyft45ol
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 7:46 pm

Bluetooth: can't send passthrough commands when music is playing

Postby gabyft45ol » Thu May 13, 2021 8:17 pm

Hello,

I have an esp32 connected to a speaker, on which a Bluetooth A2D sink is implemented. Buttons allow to play/pause/change track, change volume,...

The following functions are working properly:
- I can connect to the esp32 with my phone, and play music.
- Register notification commands can be sent to the AVRCP target which replies (The esp receives the play status, the track change, metadata with track/artiste name,...)
- Passthrough commands can also be sent to the AVRCP target, such as ESP_AVRC_PT_CMD_PAUSE, ESP_AVRC_PT_CMD_PLAY, ESP_AVRC_PT_CMD_BACKWARD and ESP_AVRC_PT_CMD_FORWARD.

However, the passthrough commands works only when the music is paused. When the music is playing, the passthrough commands have no effect. For example, I can press five times on the button to jump to next song, the esp_avrc_ct_send_passthrough_cmd function returns five times an ESP_OK, but the music player still plays the same music. When I pause the player (on the phone), the player suddenly jumps to the next track five times.

It behaves like the passthrough commands are stacked somewhere, waiting that the music is paused to be sent.

I can't find anything about this issue, have someone already seen something like that?

Thanks in advance

spleen1981
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 7:17 pm

Re: Bluetooth: can't send passthrough commands when music is playing

Postby spleen1981 » Tue May 25, 2021 11:11 pm

Hi, check here https://www.esp32.com/viewtopic.php?t=20822.
It seems to be a bug from v4.2.1 and 4.3, as with v4.2 it's working properly.

gabyft45ol
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 7:46 pm

Re: Bluetooth: can't send passthrough commands when music is playing

Postby gabyft45ol » Sun May 30, 2021 5:59 am

spleen1981 wrote:
Tue May 25, 2021 11:11 pm
Hi, check here https://www.esp32.com/viewtopic.php?t=20822.
It seems to be a bug from v4.2.1 and 4.3, as with v4.2 it's working properly.
Hi, thanks a lot for this response, I will try with v4.2.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HighVoltage and 136 guests