ESP32 BLE suggestions for streaming EEG sensor data to Android

Gualor

ESP32 BLE suggestions for streaming EEG sensor data to Android

Postby Gualor » Thu Sep 02, 2021 5:22 pm

Hi everyone! I'm new to the ESP-IDF world and I would like to thank the developer team for the amazing work done!

I'm currently working on an embedded system that read EEG signals and streams the data using Bluetooth with an ESP32 to an Android device. For this application, since my knowledge about Bluetooth is limited, I would like to hear suggestions from experts on which to use of the following:
  • Type of Bluetooth (Classic, BLE)
  • Type of Bluetooth stack (Bluedroid, Nimble)
  • Type of Protocols (HID, RFCOMM, GATT)
I understand the choices merely depends on my requirements for the applications, so here they are:
  • Send small packets 16 bytes long each
  • Continuous data rate of 250 Hz
  • Bidirectional control (ESP32 sends data to Android, and Android can send commands back, e.g., start/stop)
  • Use of FreeRTOS for running multiple tasks
Thank you for your time in advance, any suggestion will be helpful!

kaikeraut

Re: ESP32 BLE suggestions for streaming EEG sensor data to Android

Postby kaikeraut » Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:45 am

I am also looking for similar suggestion to start of my project, Thanks in advance

chegewara

Postby chegewara » Wed Sep 22, 2021 3:09 pm

I dont want to suggest any comm protocol, but this is what i found with very quick search: