Newbie on ESP32 and FreeRTOS

YvesDS

Newbie on ESP32 and FreeRTOS

Postby YvesDS » Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:59 am

Hi all,
I'm new to ESP32 and absolutly to FreeRTOS.
I'm trying to migrate from Arduino IDE to FreeRTOS and the ESP32 platform.

I've been reading a lot of sample code the last few days, and I must say it is somewhat confusing by times.
There seems to be a great benefit in stepping up to FreeRTOS and the ESP32....
But, could i find some good help here to migrate from Arduino IDE and toolchain to raw FreeRTOS and ESP32?

I could provide snippets of my arduino code, and would love to get it working under FreeRTOS.

I'm not a engineer or software develloper by studies, but i love the idea of the IoT maker world

Grtz,
Yves

martinayotte

Re: Newbie on ESP32 and FreeRTOS

Postby martinayotte » Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:29 pm

You can still use Arduino-ESP32, as it sit on top of FreeRTOS, and when your required need to call some FreeRTOS, you can easily doing it.

Addi2438

Postby Addi2438 » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:22 pm

It totally depends on what you are trying to archive.

The "problem" with the esp-idf is that there are way fewer libs you can use than when programming via arduino.
In some cases you end up in having to programm them by yourselfe.

Give us some examples of what exactly you want.

YvesDS

Postby YvesDS » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:55 am

martinayotte wrote:You can still use Arduino-ESP32, as it sit on top of FreeRTOS, and when your required need to call some FreeRTOS, you can easily doing it.
Hi!,

Does that mean one can within Arduino dedicate a task (or routine as i see it) to one of the two cores also?

I'm trying some stuff on a project, the setup of the project is to "trap" dogs passing a sensorarray of reflective photocells.