Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

kishan patel
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:56 am

Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

Postby kishan patel » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:39 am

Hello,
I am using esp_wroom32(esp32 dev-kit).So,can i use GPIO4 as an adc input?
Thanks in advance,
Regards,
Kishan Patel.

User avatar
ESP_krzychb
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

Postby ESP_krzychb » Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:25 pm

Hello kishan patel,

Yes, you can but there are some restrictions.

kishan patel
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:56 am

Re: Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

Postby kishan patel » Fri Apr 13, 2018 1:37 pm

Okay thanks,
And can i use GPIO12 as a DTR pin?
Thanks again,
Regards,
Kishan Patel.

User avatar
ESP_krzychb
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

Postby ESP_krzychb » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:31 pm

Do you mean DTR (Data Terminal Ready) input to control serial communication?
GPIO12 or MTDI is one of Strapping Pins and should be either pulled down or pulled up on power-on reset.
External device connected to GPIO12 should not pull in opposite direction on power on reset, or ESP32 will likely fail to boot.

kishan patel
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:56 am

Re: Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

Postby kishan patel » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:24 am

Okay thanks,
Yes,DTR (Data terminal Ready),i want to use it as an output.Is there any restriction to use GPIO12 as a DTR configuration?
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
ESP_krzychb
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Configure GPIO4 as ADC Input

Postby ESP_krzychb » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:11 am

GPIO12 is also one of dedicated JTAG pins.
If you plan to use JTAG then its operation will interfere with an application toggling DTR.
Apart from that I do not see issues with using GPIO12 as an output.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests