No logging output from the main c file

Jpadie

No logging output from the main c file

Postby Jpadie » Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:18 pm

Hi

this is my first time trying to use the esp-idf rather than arduino. I recognise that I'm probably doing something stupid.

I'm trying to build a simple IR sender and using ESP_LOGI to get some serial output for debugging. In an attempt to generate these outputs I use statements such as

Code: Select all

ESP_LOGI(TAG, "[APP] Startup..");
ESP_LOGI(TAG, "[APP] Free memory: %d bytes", esp_get_free_heap_size());
at the top of the file I have the following

#define LOG_LOCAL_LEVEL ESP_LOG_VERBOSE
#include "esp_log.h"
static const char *TAG = "IRBLASTER";
and I also set the log levels in app_main

esp_log_level_set("*", ESP_LOG_VERBOSE);
esp_log_level_set("MQTT_CLIENT", ESP_LOG_VERBOSE);
esp_log_level_set("TRANSPORT_TCP", ESP_LOG_VERBOSE);
esp_log_level_set("OUTBOX", ESP_LOG_VERBOSE);
esp_log_level_set(TAG, ESP_LOG_VERBOSE);
In the menuconfig I've tried setting the default verbosity to verbose

However in the console (make monitor) I get no output at all that I'd expect. i do get output from board though. Examples as follows:

I (1347) wifi: state: init -> auth (b0)
I (1347) wifi: state: auth -> assoc (0)
I (1357) wifi: state: assoc -> run (10)
I (1367) wifi: connected with ********, channel 8
I (4097) event: sta ip: 192.168.0.39, mask: 255.255.255.0, gw: 192.168.0.254
I (4097) system_api: Base MAC address is not set, read default base MAC address from BLK0 of EFUSE
I (4227) MQTT_CLIENT: Sending MQTT CONNECT message, type: 1, id: 0000
I (4357) wifi: pm start, type:0
so the logging appears to be working for the components; just not the main file.

likewise if I send mqtt commands to the board, they appear from the mqtt client, but no logging occurs from the callbacks. my serial connection is to uart0.

Could anyone give me an idea of where I'm going wrong?

thanks in advance.
Justin

kolban

Re: No logging output from the main c file