Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

EBCLR2017
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:08 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby EBCLR2017 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:25 am

Try change Arduino IDE tool flash frequency to 40 Mhz

niveta
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby niveta » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:33 am

Hi,
Any updates on this issue? I am also facing the same problem.I have tried all the suggestions.But it didn't make any difference.Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance

Hans Dorn
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:21 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby Hans Dorn » Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:03 pm

Have you tried setting the upload baud rate to 115200?

User avatar
stryker
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:48 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby stryker » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:13 pm

FWIW I am also seeing this, with a very similar breakout board design and ESP-WROOM-32 module. I can blink an LED but it won't run any example with Wifi. I'm using the 3V3 rail on an ATX PC PSU to provide power. I've yet to try the caps and scope but will surely report back if I have a breakthrough.

der_Lemmi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby der_Lemmi » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:08 pm

I have also the problem with the ESP32 WROOM when any WIFI example will freeze the device after random time!

The device gets the a little bit warm, after resetting it will be fine for 3-30 minutes then the device freeze again without any outputs.
I tried different power supply's and cables but nothing will fix the problem, wen running without WIFI device will not freeze.

Dev Board is the: https://aliexpress.com/item/ESP32-Devel ... 37284.html

Any fix for this issue?

User avatar
stryker
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:48 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby stryker » Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:39 pm

I've put 3x 1uF in parallel across 3V3 and GND with no change seen. These were the largest I had on hand, and of the Metalized Polyester Film box type. My breakout looks like this one. The AI Thinker site doesn't even mention this though.

User avatar
stryker
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:48 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby stryker » Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:11 am

I'm pleased to report I've had my breakthrough. Adding capacitors didn't help, but after replacing the ATX power supply I was using with my benchtop Gophert CPS-3205 the Wifi scan example sketch has now been running (without additional capacitors) for over 30mins now. It's reporting 121-127mA (as inaccurate as we know it is).

A reading from an infrared thermometer aimed at the can on the module is showing 34.6C, marginally warmer than the 28.6C of my desk but not yet warm to touch.

Curiously, the repeated scans are finding at worst 3 and at best 9 networks in range.

My intention is to leave it run overnight, to ensure I don't have the hanging issue @der_Lemmi is seeing, but it appears I've found my culprit in the PSU.

Geoff

User avatar
stryker
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:48 am

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby stryker » Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:08 am

Update: my overnight test was (mostly) successful. The module remains approx 5C above ambient temperature, so is not having any heat issues and was still running after 7hours. There was still something showing on the serial output, though this was garbled, but that could as easy be something that was wrong on the PC end using the serial monitor in Arduino IDE. I had an LED lit on alternate scans and that was still responding.

Hope others in this thread have similar wins.

der_Lemmi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby der_Lemmi » Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:38 am

Update to the freezes:

After logging now I know the device is not frozen but hangs!!
After connection from a client who do not send any byte (Router, DNS server, ...) the device hangs in a loop, because the connection is shown as established but that is the fault.

Seems this is an issue with the library, a client timeout is not working.
My solution was to ad a timeout for the client connection between "while(client.connected())" and "if(client.avalible())"

ptmcknight
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 5:18 pm

Re: Can't get ESP32 WROOM to work with any example

Postby ptmcknight » Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:10 am

Im having a similar issue but cannot confirm it is power supply related in my case. I'm using the power supply and LiPO charge circuit taken off of the Sparkfun ESP32 Thing. I confirmed it is able to supply the WROOM by connecting to a ESP32 Dev Module 3V3 and Gnd pins directly. I am reading serial through a separate FTDI interface and confirmed it is able to run my WiFi examples without issue. However, when I try to run the WiFi.begin(ssid,pw) command on my simplified WROOM breakout, I get the same InstrFetchProhibited errors discussed here previously. Specific backtrace is here:

0x4008c6c6: write_txrate_power_offset at ?? line ?
0x40089651: set_tx_gain_table at ?? line ?
0x4008a5c5: bb_init at ?? line ?
0x4008ad93: register_chipv7_phy at ?? line ?
0x4010abc0: esp_phy_rf_init at /Users/ficeto/Desktop/ESP32/ESP32/esp-idf-public/components/esp32/./phy_init.c line 142
0x4010ad29: esp_phy_load_cal_and_init at /Users/ficeto/Desktop/ESP32/ESP32/esp-idf-public/components/esp32/./phy_init.c line 290
0x400ed6ab: wifi_hw_start at ?? line ?
0x400ed6e9: wifi_start_process at ?? line ?
0x400edc8a: ieee80211_ioctl_process at ?? line ?
0x400946f6: ppTask at ?? line ?

Also here is the schematic of my breakout circuit:
ESP32_Breakout_Schem.png
ESP32_Breakout_Schem.png (100.66 KiB) Viewed 14039 times
Any idea what's different? Perhaps I need a different capacitor closer to the input? Thank you!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Basalt and 65 guests