How to make vTaskList functional in VS Code and Platformio

flamy69
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2021 7:08 am

How to make vTaskList functional in VS Code and Platformio

Postby flamy69 » Sun Sep 12, 2021 8:47 pm

Hi, I am trying to debug my code (without debuger) and I found this function (vTaskList) in FreeRTOS . I was able to run it in VS Code and ESP-IDF with some settings for FreeRTOS, but I can not do that for project in Platformio. I would switch to ESP-IDF, but there I couldnt make functional libraries from arduino. Can someone please write step by step manual, how to change setings for FreeRTOS in project created in VS Code and Platformio? Thank you very much in advance.

username
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 1:18 pm

Re: How to make vTaskList functional in VS Code and Platformio

Postby username » Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:11 am

I used it in platformIO without any issues. Did you run menuconfig in platformIO to enable using these features ?

flamy69
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2021 7:08 am

Re: How to make vTaskList functional in VS Code and Platformio

Postby flamy69 » Mon Sep 13, 2021 8:24 am

Hi, maybe I am missing something or I was not clear in my question. I use ESP32, Platformio and Arduino framework. I believe, that Arduino has prebuild FreeRTOS as library. And menuconfig I believe is for clean ESP-IDF, not for Arduino based project? But I add

Code: Select all

      	-D CONFIG_FREERTOS_VTASKLIST_INCLUDE_COREID=1
      	-D CONFIG_FREERTOS_USE_TRACE_FACILITY=1
      	-D CONFIG_FREERTOS_USE_STATS_FORMATTING_FUNCTIONS=1
into platformio.ini and I add

Code: Select all

	#define CONFIG_FREERTOS_VTASKLIST_INCLUDE_COREID 1
	#define CONFIG_FREERTOS_USE_TRACE_FACILITY 1
	#define CONFIG_FREERTOS_USE_STATS_FORMATTING_FUNCTIONS 1
into sdkconfig.h, but still during linking I get this:
C:\git\gaggia_classic\SW_esp32/src/main.cpp:161: undefined reference to `vTaskList'

username
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 1:18 pm

Re: How to make vTaskList functional in VS Code and Platformio

Postby username » Mon Sep 13, 2021 11:39 am

ok, I didn't catch the Arduino part.

Bascy65
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: How to make vTaskList functional in VS Code and Platformio

Postby Bascy65 » Tue Sep 28, 2021 9:18 am

I know this is a very old thread ..but still I'm also interrested in getting this to work to help monitoring the tasks we have running in our project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests