Advice needed for vibration analysis project comms.

BaartCM

Advice needed for vibration analysis project comms.

Postby BaartCM » Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:13 pm

Hi Guys,

Im new to the ESP32. Previously, I have been using an STM32F103 board for my vibration analysis project. I have written code for the STM32 which basically sits waiting for a request via USB to send it data. It then reads from 4 ADC channels, at the samples per second requested by the host and sends them back immediately via USB until it recieves a stop command. The host runs a Python code which allows you to select various settings and request data. On reciept of the data, various analysis are done on the samples and you can view the results.

The code for this is here https://github.com/BaartCM/FFT-Analyser

I have modified the code to work with the ESP32 and it is functioning fine.

Id like to be able to permanently install vibration sensors and data collection ESP32's on several machines in a plant room so step 2 is that I would like to be able to request data from the ESP32 wirelessly. This is where I would appreciate some input.

Ideally, I see a hub like a Raspberry Pi connecting to several ESP32's in turn, requesting data from them and then sending the data to a cloud for later analysis. On the other hand, it could be a guy with a 'data reader' of some sort with a screen showing what ESP32 'nodes' are in range and allowing him to interrogate the one he wants with the data stored on the reader and transferred to a PC etc via USB.

I dont know anything about the differect bluetooth and wifi technologies to decide which would be the best method to use. Can anyone suggest how they would tackle it?

Thanks, Steve.

ESP_krzychb

Re: Advice needed for vibration analysis project comms.

Postby ESP_krzychb » Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:43 pm

Hi BaartCM,
BaartCM wrote:The code for this is here https://github.com/BaartCM/FFT-Analyser

I have modified the code to work with the ESP32 and it is functioning fine.