Interrupt triggering

MuchMore

Interrupt triggering

Postby MuchMore » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:54 am

Hey

I am quite new to the ESP32 Platform. Today I tried to connect an rotory encoder with button to my ESP32.
On the Arduino UNO I used interrupts to speed up the detection. And also to make the edge cleaner I use 100nF caps.

Now to my problem: The ESP32 triggers constantly when the edge is changing. The higher to capasitor, and therefor slower the rise/fall time, the more events are detected. This goes so far that if I use a 1000uF cap the ESP32 gets stuck inside a loop that doesn't do away if I remove the cap.

Of cours this makes the use of interrups totally useless. even if I code a software timed backout, it would be more economical to use aktiv pooling.

Am I doing something wrong or is this the desired operation of interreupts, and the UNO was just to slow to give me the same problems?

The code I used:

Code: Select all

const byte interruptPin = 27;
volatile int interruptCounter = 0;
int numberOfInterrupts = 0;

portMUX_TYPE mux = portMUX_INITIALIZER_UNLOCKED;

void IRAM_ATTR handleInterrupt() {
  portENTER_CRITICAL_ISR(&mux);
  interruptCounter++;
  portEXIT_CRITICAL_ISR(&mux);
}

void setup() {

Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("Monitoring interrupts: ");
  pinMode(interruptPin, INPUT);
  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(interruptPin), handleInterrupt, FALLING);

}

void loop() {

if(interruptCounter>0){

portENTER_CRITICAL(&mux);
      interruptCounter--;
      portEXIT_CRITICAL(&mux);

numberOfInterrupts++;
      Serial.print("An interrupt has occurred. Total: ");
      Serial.println(numberOfInterrupts);
  }
}
BTW.: I checked the signal with an oscilloscop and it is totally clean so this is no bouncing problem.

kolban

Re: Interrupt triggering

Postby kolban » Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:37 pm