new board won't connect

User avatar
mzimmers
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:54 pm
Location: USA

new board won't connect

Postby mzimmers » Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:13 pm

Hi all -

I've been developing a product based on the ESP32 for several months, using the same development board for much of that time. Today, I was forced to try a new board, and found that I was unable to connect to my access point.

- flashed the new board with my partitions .bin file.
- flashed NVS with all my start up parameters (changing my MAC address).
- flashed my application

It runs; it just doesn't connect to my access point. I verified that my MAC address is different (it's one of the parameters I set in NVS). Here's one iteration of the output log:

Code: Select all

I (5867) wifi: mode : sta (01:12:23:34:45:56)
I (5867) Wifi: setCommsState() changing state to Starting.
W (5867) wifi: Haven't to connect to a suitable AP now!
I (5867) Wifi: event_handler(): Wifi started at Thu Jan  1 00:00:05 1970.
I (5877) Wifi: setCommsState() changing state to Started.
I (5997) wifi: new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<255,255>, sta:<1,0>, prof:1
I (5997) wifi: state: init -> auth (b0)
I (6997) wifi: state: auth -> init (200)
I (7007) wifi: new:<1,0>, old:<1,0>, ap:<255,255>, sta:<1,0>, prof:1
W (7007) Wifi: event_handler(): Wifi disconnected at Thu Jan  1 00:00:07 1970; reason code is 2.
I (7007) wifi: flush txq
I (7017) wifi: stop sw txq
I (7017) wifi: lmac stop hw txq
I (7017) Wifi: setCommsState() changing state to Disconnected.
W (7027) Wifi: event_handler(): Wifi stopped at Thu Jan  1 00:00:07 1970.
I (7027) Wifi: setCommsState() changing state to Stopped.
The line "W (5867) wifi: Haven't to connect to a suitable AP now!" is one I started seeing recently (I don't know what I did to cause it), but my (old) board still connected, so that may be irrelevant.

Any ideas? Thanks...

User avatar
mzimmers
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:54 pm
Location: USA

Re: new board won't connect

Postby mzimmers » Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:43 pm

Update: I disabled my change to the MAC address:

Code: Select all

//    strcpy(macAddrAscii, m_tasks->flash->getMacAddr().c_str());
//    ESP_LOGI(TAG, "taskInit(): changing MAC address to %s.", macAddrAscii);
//    mac_atoi(macAddrSet, macAddrAscii);
//    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_base_mac_addr_set(macAddrSet));
And it works. I've verified that the address I'm getting from my flash storage is valid...any ideas why my AP might not like my custom MAC address?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 25 guests