Powering my esp32 projects

RSchlenker

Powering my esp32 projects

Postby RSchlenker » Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:32 pm

Hey Guys,
I am totally new to powering microcontrollers, that's why I am not sure about how to power my project correctly.
I wan to build a mobile setup using the esp32 WROOM-Breakout from board from sparkfun. Ideally, the power should last for a few days for my project. Basically, the projects consists of regularly accelerometer-data via bluetooth. In between the measurements the esp32 will stay in sleep mode to save power.
The size of the batteries is also critical, so I would prefer a smaller sized battery like a coin cell or a small LiPo-battery.
One possible power supply could be a LiPo battery 3.7V, 200mah. But during development, I am powering the project using the micro-usb port which provides 5V. So I am basically not sure if a 3.7V battery can afford the same power. As I know, the IO-pins are powered with 3.3V Does the breadboard down-regulate the 5V and will 3.7V be enough to power the esp32?
I have to apologize for such beginner-questions but I couldn't find a similar project reference to validate my assumptions.

Kind regards,
RSchlenker

KanyeKanye

Re: Powering my esp32 projects

Postby KanyeKanye » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:25 am

5V power supply would damage esp.
Esp if you're not too frugal (wifi on, low value resistors for pullups) needs about 0.2A and your battery will die in 1 hour.

peter_

Postby peter_ » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:21 am

Hello,
it should be possible to power the ESP from a LIPO. They have often discharge rates of about 20 C/H (C = capacity in AH). But you need a voltage regulator with a very low drop.
I'm using the TPS73733. Maybe you can think about a switching regulator, but I don't know if this is the best choice for a Ultra Low Power application. The TPS73733 has a maximum Input of 5.5V so USB is no problem.

Kind regards
Peter