Changing baudrate of make monitor on esp32

Alex Chen
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:37 pm

Changing baudrate of make monitor on esp32

Postby Alex Chen » Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:46 pm

I want to change the baudrate of the make monitor for esp32, but after I change it in the make menuconfig and then make flash and monitor the output I only see a bunch of scrambled characters. I tried many other baudrate as well, but only the default 115200bps will print out readable characters. Could anyone help me on this please?

This is the config I have changed:
Screenshot from 2020-10-12 13-44-56.png
Screenshot from 2020-10-12 13-44-56.png (43.2 KiB) Viewed 212 times
and this is the make monitor output:
Screenshot from 2020-10-11 15-58-49.png
Screenshot from 2020-10-11 15-58-49.png (43.6 KiB) Viewed 212 times
Thank you very much

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 4011
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Changing baudrate of make monitor on esp32

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Oct 13, 2020 3:13 am

This only changes the baud rate on the PC side. You also need to change the baud rate accordingly on the ESP32 side.

Alex Chen
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: Changing baudrate of make monitor on esp32

Postby Alex Chen » Tue Oct 13, 2020 3:30 am

How do I change the baudrate on the esp32 side?

chegewara
Posts: 1234
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:00 pm

Re: Changing baudrate of make monitor on esp32

Postby chegewara » Tue Oct 13, 2020 6:41 am

2 things:
1) bootloader logs always are printed with 115200, so you will see garbage with different baudrate
2) you can use make monitor ESPBAUD=__baud__ command to change monitor baud rate, try it please

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 4011
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Changing baudrate of make monitor on esp32

Postby ESP_Sprite » Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:40 am

chegewara wrote:
Tue Oct 13, 2020 6:41 am
2 things:
1) bootloader logs always are printed with 115200, so you will see garbage with different baudrate
2) you can use make monitor ESPBAUD=__baud__ command to change monitor baud rate, try it please

1 is correct, but 2 will only (again) change the PC baud rate. A correct answer is that you can configure it via menuconfig: Component config -> Common ESP-related -> UART console baud rate. Note you need to select 'Custom UART' under 'Channel for console output' before you can configure that.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 40 guests