Page 1 of 1

Does ESP32-S2 support i2s built-in ADC?

Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:05 am
by Jara777
Hi I have bought ESP32-S2 board and tried its i2s built-in ADC. But it did not work. The error showed "I2S_MODE_ADC_BUILT_IN' was not declared in this scope". So if someone knows that whether ESP32-S2 support i2s built-in ADC? Thanks a lot!

Re: Does ESP32-S2 support i2s built-in ADC?

Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:21 am
by ESP_Sprite
On the -S2, the ADC doesn't use I2S for DMA anymore, it can do DMA by itself. Unfortunately, we don't really have a nice example to show that off, but you may be able to get some hints from the driver test code in esp-idf at components/driver/test/adc_dma_test .

Re: Does ESP32-S2 support i2s built-in ADC?

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 3:37 am
by Jara777
Thank you for the reply! So that means it can achieve high ADC sampling rate (e.g. 100kHz) without i2s, right?

Re: Does ESP32-S2 support i2s built-in ADC?

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 3:45 am
by Jara777
ESP_Sprite wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 9:21 am
On the -S2, the ADC doesn't use I2S for DMA anymore, it can do DMA by itself. Unfortunately, we don't really have a nice example to show that off, but you may be able to get some hints from the driver test code in esp-idf at components/driver/test/adc_dma_test .
And, will you provide the relevant example in the near future?