callback function call results in InstrFetchProhibited

haddow777

callback function call results in InstrFetchProhibited

Postby haddow777 » Wed Jul 14, 2021 3:49 am

Hello all, I'm fairly new to all this. I am having the most difficult time doing what seems to be a simple task. I have searched all over, used every technique I found and it all keeps ending up with this massive failure.

So, I am using an exp-WROOM-32S development board through vscode platformio (I figured the vscode discussion was for vscode specific problems, so I thought since it's seems to be a purely on board issue, it should go in this channel. Let me know if this question would.be better served elsewhere.

To start off, my code is quite simple at the moment. I include the ArduinoWebsockets library along with WiFi library. When I interfaced directly with the websocket library, everything worked perfectly. My board was independently talking with my remote node server no problem.

I then broke up the main big file into smaller files so as the project grows, it will be manageable. Part of that process was my wanting to abstract away the websocket functionality from the communication logic, in case down the line I decide to change or add more communication technologies. ArduinoWebsockets informs the program of an incoming message by having you register a callback function. The code example used a lambda function to do this like this:

Code: Select all

client.onMessage([&](WebsocketsMessage message){
        Serial.print("Got Message: ");
        Serial.println(message.data());
    });
So, part of the abstraction was to remove the need for the communications class to deal with the websockets specific WebsocketsMessage struct. so here is a very cut down simplified version of what I intended to do:

client_sockets.cpp

void Websocket::onMessage(std::function<void()> cb) {
    client.onMessage([&](WebsocketsMessage message){
        Serial.print("Got Message: ");
        try {
            cb();