How to use all available RAM on ESP32-D0WD-V3?

kotyara12
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 11:09 am

How to use all available RAM on ESP32-D0WD-V3?

Postby kotyara12 » Tue Mar 22, 2022 11:24 am

Good afternoon!

I am currently developing a fairly large ESP32 program using ESP-IDF and PlatformIO. After some time, there was a problem with a lack of RAM, especially at times when there are problems with Internet access, and the device is forced to "save" data not sent to the server.

To solve this problem, I purchased an ESP32-WROVER-IE 16MB chip (ESP32-D0WD-V3), which, according to the documentation, has 16MB Flash and 520 RAM on board.

Setting up the ESP-IDF to use 16Mb Flash turned out pretty quickly, thanks to the description:
"upload": {
"flash_size": "16MB",
"maximum_ram_size": 532480,
"maximum_size": 16777216,
"require_upload_port": true,
speed: 460800
}
and custom partitions.csv. There are no problems with this. Everything is fine, all 16MB are available to me.

But there are problems with RAM - no matter how much I put in "maximum_ram_size" - the program still sees only 320Kb. And this was the main purpose of the purchase.

How can I get access to all available RAM???

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: How to use all available RAM on ESP32-D0WD-V3?

Postby WiFive » Tue Mar 22, 2022 4:58 pm

https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... types.html
https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... l-ram.html

520 is the total ram but it is not all available as data ram to the application. But with wrover you should have more than enough space for data in external ram.

kotyara12
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 11:09 am

Re: How to use all available RAM on ESP32-D0WD-V3?

Postby kotyara12 » Wed Mar 23, 2022 6:13 am

Thank you for your reply. Yes, I got it yesterday. I set up SPIRAM, and now I have a lot of free memory.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 133 guests