New to ESP32: Product Selection for the application described and support needed to start development

@mshah04

New to ESP32: Product Selection for the application described and support needed to start development

Postby @mshah04 » Tue Dec 06, 2022 1:52 pm

Hello,
I am new to ESP32 and Bluetooth development. I've an application that I want to develop as described below and need some guidance on the module / development kit selection that would be best suitable for the application as described below, and how to start preparing simple application which will be interfaced with host microcontrollers on both, Master & Slave units for data exchange.

I am looking for a pair of BLE modules for data exchange. The Master unit will have a BLE module interfaced with Host Microcontroller. This module will establish pairing with a wireless foot pedal with another BLE module and host microcontroller interface on the foot pedal board. Both devices have PIC18F series microcontroller and support UART communication with the BLE modules.
There is no PC / mobile device involved in the communication at this point.

Both devices need to enter pairing mode and the unit should be able to pair with any foot pedal in field.
Once paired, both devices will exchange data.
Foot pedal will be battery operated - 2 AA Alkaline batteries - non rechargeable.

Which module should be used for such application?
Can you please provide some guidance how to setup and develop such application? Is this strictly based on AT Commands which will be interfaced over UART with host microcontroller?

Thank you for your support!

@mshah04

Re: New to ESP32: Product Selection for the application described and support needed to start development

Postby @mshah04 » Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:43 pm

Dear Espressif team,

Thank you for your reply.

When using AT Commands, I would like to achieve the following in my application: