Developing with C++ in Eclipse

javaben

Developing with C++ in Eclipse

Postby javaben » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:58 pm

I'm new to Eclipse/ESP32, but not new to programming, although not too deep on C++; mostly C, and Java.

I decided a project I'm building would work better for me, from a design perspective, if I were to develop it in C++ instead of the Arduino IDE, so I downloaded, installed, and configured the Eclipse IDE, thanks to Kolban and pcbreflus' youtube videos. I've been able to compile and download some of the examples from those two gentlemen onto my ESP32, as well as Kolban's book.

So now I'm ready to turn my attention back to my project...

However, I'm still stuck, and as much research as I've been doing, I can't seem to understand what's going on if I want to code in C++.

For instance, I'm totally lost on the reason for, and use of, "app_main". It seems almost as though it is just thrown in there.

Any insight on actually using C++ for ESP32 on Eclipse IDE would be appreciated. I can find a ton of stuff on setup, and some example programs, but nothing that's actually showing me what's going on, and why.

Thanks,

JavaBen

kolban

Re: Developing with C++ in Eclipse

Postby kolban » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:49 am

Howdy my friend,
The community will try and assist as best we can. However it is going to be best if we try and narrow our questions as best as possible. Lets take the app_main() story as a starting place.

When you write your application, you will need an entry point into your code. In a C/C++ application, this is usually a function called "main()". The designers of the ESP-IDF, decided that the entry point would be called "app_main()". In a C program, you may code:

Code: Select all

void app_main() {
   // do something
}