PCB design with esp32

legera

PCB design with esp32

Postby legera » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:05 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new in electronic design and pcb design. So I'm currently designing a new pcb with esp32 for an automatic watering system.

Here is the schematic, can someone tell me if there is something wrong, specially with the voltage regulator. If you have some tips to improve this.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
my_pcb.PNG
pcb watering system
my_pcb.PNG (63.48 KiB) Viewed 19132 times

ESP_Sprite

Re: PCB design with esp32

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:09 am

In general, check the hardware design guidelines for what applies to your situation: https://www.espressif.com/sites/default ... nes_en.pdf . For instance, it suggests a slightly more complex reset circuit consisting of a RC-combination.

Specific to your case:
- I'd put the reset, GPIO0, TxD, RxD and Gnd on one connector. Makes it easier to automatically flash your board (resetting and putting it in boot mode using handshake pins on your USB-to-serial-converter), making development less painful.
- I'd run the 3.3V LDO from the 5V LDO. This way, the power dissipation resulting form the voltage drop between the 12V and 3.3V line is shared between the two LDOs.
- I assume the TRANSFO_12V block actually is a transformer plus bridge rectifier plus smoothing caps, or actually a switched mode power supply; in any case, something that spits out a reasonably smooth 12VDC and not AC? If not, you should add a bridge rectifier and some hefty electrolythics.
- In general, why not use a 5V PSU? I don't see the 12V being used for anything but the LDOs. For instance, the HLK-PM01 would work really well here (but there also are other integrated 5V switch converters that can work. Watch their output current, though, make sure it's >=500mA max)