compilation on windows without MSYS2

sanukrishnan

compilation on windows without MSYS2

Postby sanukrishnan » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:42 pm

Hi,
I am a beginner in ESP32 platform trying to implement few ideas on esp32 hardware.

My first sample project compiles and gets downloaded well on both Ubuntu and windows with MSYS2.
But "esp32_win32_msys2_environment_and_toolchain-20180110.zip" with size 500MB seems too much for me. Is there any alternative for this? Any method, that compiles esp32 projects on windows without this heavy file?

I tried cygwin, mingw32, ESPArduinoMakefile etc.. But didn't work for me.

But Arduino IDE compiles esp32 projects without MSYS2. How does this work? I checked the boards.txt and platform.txt files and found the recipes used by the compiler there, but couldn't figure out the exact method or compiler used.

Is there any method or makefile that compiles esp32 projects on windows directly??

chegewara

Re: compilation on windows without MSYS2

Postby chegewara » Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:56 am

I dont know if this is good idea but you can install Ubuntu on windows 10.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... tall-win10

I would suggest eclipse, but even with eclipse you need to build menuconfig and without msys i think its not possible.
Arduino has prebuild/hardcoded menuconfig, if you ask.

sanukrishnan

Postby sanukrishnan » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:34 am

But this also adds more dependency and needs additional download.

I am searching about a standalone lightweight ecosystem to develop esp32 applications.

fly135

Postby fly135 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:35 pm

I found it extremely easy to use MSYS installation. Works right out of the box on win 7,8.1, and 10. Only the usb driver needed an update with 10. Personally I think if you are a beginner it's the easiest way to go short of sticking with Arduino.

Just follow the instructions here...

https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... setup.html

John A

sanukrishnan