[Solved] A step-by-step guide to enable AT commands for ES32P-AT via USB on DevKitC

flosko

[Solved] A step-by-step guide to enable AT commands for ES32P-AT via USB on DevKitC

Postby flosko » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:27 am

Dear ESP32-AT developers, especially newbies,

I am new to ESP32 and was burning a considerable amount of time in the recent days to enable AT commands via USB for the ESP-AT firmware for DevKitC (tested on SOLO and WROVER boards). The requried information is scattered across multiple places, guides and tutorials, so I figured it might be helpful for the one or the other to drop my collected findings here. They are current as of January 12th, 2019.

By default, UART0 (TXD0 is GPIO1 and RXD0 is GPIO3), connected to the USB bridge chip, acts as debug interface. Issuing AT commands is only possible via an additional UART interface (UART1, GPIO16 is RxD and GPIO17 is TxD) and thus requires additional hardware to fully use the DevBoard with a PC only. (Here is a good overview picture of the pinning: https://randomnerdtutorials.com/esp32-p ... nce-gpios/). So if you liek to explore the ESP-AT firmware's cpabilities on a DevKitC, you need additional hardware, OR, modify the firmware a bit so that the AT interface is also available via UART0.

The following Step-by-Step- guide describes how to proceed on Windows 10x64, from installing the development environment until connecting the DevKitC to a WPA2-enabled WiFi and sending off HTTP requests to a Cloud Platform.

1. Install the Virtual COM Port Driver for the Cypress 210x chip: CP210x_Universal_Windows_Driver. Then you should be able to connect to the DevBoard via a standard terminal using the virtual COM port assigned to your board by the system.
https://www.silabs.com/products/develop ... cp-drivers

2. Download and unzip the pre-built toolchain for ESP32, however, do NOT use the latest one, but this one to ensure compatibility with the ESP32-AT firmware referenced above: