Page 1 of 1

VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2020 12:55 pm
by gunar.kroeger
This looks nice, but should I change something to get it working?
108KB/20KB doesn't feel right.
sizeanalysis.png
sizeanalysis.png (33.15 KiB) Viewed 5102 times

Re: VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 8:00 am
by ESP_Soumesh
Could you maybe post the output for

Code: Select all

$ python $IDF_PATH/tools/idf_size.py build/{app_name}.map --json
app_name is your app name here
Also please provide your OS, IDF Version, VSCode Version and VSCode Extension Version (can be found in the installed extension page)

Re: VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 9:42 pm
by gunar.kroeger
I'm on windows 10, IDF 4.0, Extension version 0.2.1, vscode 1.45.0.

This happens to everyone on different PCs with the same big project we are working on.
Trying out different projects gives different results for the maximum DRAM and IRAM available, which makes no sense to me.
I'm compiling for the esp32-pico
Annotation 2020-05-15 183503.png
Annotation 2020-05-15 183503.png (49.05 KiB) Viewed 1512 times

Re: VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:00 pm
by ESP_Soumesh
As you can see in the Json Data you've posted ... there are some issue

available_iram: 13439
used_iram: 117633

Which is causing this issue... Will discuss this further with colleagues from IDF and see why this issue is happening?

Re: VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:25 pm
by ESP_Roland
Hi gunar.kroeger,

is it possible to share with us your MAP file? Note that it might contain sensitive information if it is a commercial project with closed source. In that case are you able to reproduce the issue with some other project (eg. IDF example)?

Do you get the same values with idf_size.py from the IDF master branch? (can be tested in console and no need to rebuild the project)

The MAP file is parsed by idf_size.py and it is possible that your project contains some unexpected organization of the segments there.

Re: VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:39 pm
by boarchuz
Are they not simply showing used/free instead of the expected used/total? The bars should be using the ratio values or used/(used+available) instead.

It would also be great to have the total_size front-and-centre in this view.

Re: VS Code - Size Analysis

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 1:41 pm
by ESP_Soumesh
boarchuz wrote:
Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:39 pm
Are they not simply showing used/free instead of the expected used/total? The bars should be using the ratio values or used/(used+available) instead.

It would also be great to have the total_size front-and-centre in this view.
Correct will fix this behaviour, same can be tracked https://github.com/espressif/vscode-esp ... issues/128