Error:GPIO isr service already installed

ESP_Piyush
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:02 am

Re: Error:GPIO isr service already installed

Postby ESP_Piyush » Wed Sep 08, 2021 9:06 am

Hi Nirmesh,

As mentioned in the earlier comment, the specific error message "GPIO isr service already installed" is indeed an error and appropriate changes would be done either in the GPIO driver and/or the button component to handle or prevent this error. It is harmless only in this particular context since we know what is causing.

W.r.t the watchdog issue you are seeing, I tried copying the new snippet into your original code from here and made some other minor changes in app_priv.h and app_main.c to compile it. The firmware worked fine for me as below

Code: Select all

I (882) gpio: GPIO[17]| InputEn: 1| OutputEn: 0| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:3 
E (882) gpio: gpio_install_isr_service(449): GPIO isr service already installed
I (892) gpio: GPIO[18]| InputEn: 1| OutputEn: 0| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:3 
E (902) gpio: gpio_install_isr_service(449): GPIO isr service already installed
I (912) gpio: GPIO[19]| InputEn: 1| OutputEn: 0| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:3 
E (922) gpio: gpio_install_isr_service(449): GPIO isr service already installed
I (932) gpio: GPIO[21]| InputEn: 1| OutputEn: 0| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:3 
I (942) gpio: GPIO[14]| InputEn: 0| OutputEn: 1| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:0 
I (952) gpio: GPIO[25]| InputEn: 0| OutputEn: 1| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:0 
I (952) gpio: GPIO[26]| InputEn: 0| OutputEn: 1| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:0 
I (962) gpio: GPIO[27]| InputEn: 0| OutputEn: 1| OpenDrain: 0| Pullup: 1| Pulldown: 0| Intr:0 
I (1022) wifi:wifi driver task: 3ffd0274, prio:23, stack:6656, core=0
I (1022) system_api: Base MAC address is not set
I (1022) system_api: read default base MAC address from EFUSE
I (1042) wifi:wifi firmware version: d683787
I (1042) wifi:wifi certification version: v7.0
I (1042) wifi:config NVS flash: enabled
I (1042) wifi:config nano formating: disabled
I (1042) wifi:Init data frame dynamic rx buffer num: 32
I (1052) wifi:Init management frame dynamic rx buffer num: 32
I (1052) wifi:Init management short buffer num: 32
I (1062) wifi:Init dynamic tx buffer num: 32
I (1062) wifi:Init static rx buffer size: 1600
I (1062) wifi:Init static rx buffer num: 10
I (1072) wifi:Init dynamic rx buffer num: 32

From your logs, we see that the main task is using up the CPU whereas for me, it just proceeded without issues. So it seems there is could be some difference between our environments or the application code. Can you share the following?

1. esp-idf version (Using "git describe" command)
2. Platform used (esp32, esp32s2, esp32c3 ?)
3. Development Board (This should not matter much, but just in case)
4. The application code (you may just update your github repo)
5. Your project's sdkconfig file

nirmeshru
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Error:GPIO isr service already installed

Postby nirmeshru » Wed Sep 08, 2021 8:36 pm

Hi Piyush,

Thanks for your effort in trying to reproduce the issue.

So As per your log, I am seeing GPIO isr error messages but it is not causing any Watchdog reset issue with 4 switches at your end.
I go through the button component and suspecting these error is due to this gpio_install_isr_service(0) call.

I am sharing the details for further debugging.

1. esp-idf version (Using "git describe" command)
>> v4.2.1

2. Platform used (esp32, esp32s2, esp32c3 ?)
>>esp32

3. Development Board (This should not matter much, but just in case)
>> custom board based on ES32 WOORM

4. The application code (you may just update your github repo)
>>updated Github repo with 4 switches.

5. Your project's sdkconfig file
>>attached project SDKconfig file.
Attachments
sdkconfig.txt
SDKconfig
(41.52 KiB) Downloaded 14 times

nirmeshru
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 7:08 pm

Re: Error:GPIO isr service already installed

Postby nirmeshru » Wed Sep 15, 2021 1:36 pm

Hi Piyush,

As you mentioned, you did a small change in the code and it is working fine for you. may I know what change you have made in this example?

Thanks,
Nirmesh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests