Mesh uses HT40, this uses too many channels. Can I used HT20?

User avatar
hassan789
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:15 am

Mesh uses HT40, this uses too many channels. Can I used HT20?

Postby hassan789 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 6:41 pm

Mesh uses HT40, this uses too many channels, causing issues with existing Wifi infrastructure in large buildings.
Is it possible to force everything to go down to HT20, so less 2.4GHz channels are used?

Thanks :D

ESP_LBB
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:41 am

Re: Mesh uses HT40, this uses too many channels. Can I used HT20?

Postby ESP_LBB » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:03 am

Hi hassan789,

Please check this link if it helps: https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... fi-ht20-40

User avatar
hassan789
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:15 am

Re: Mesh uses HT40, this uses too many channels. Can I used HT20?

Postby hassan789 » Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:05 pm

tried both modes, and it did not work.... was this ever tested?

Code: Select all

esp_wifi_set_mode(WIFI_MODE_APSTA);
esp_wifi_set_bandwidth(ESP_IF_WIFI_AP, WIFI_BW_HT20);


esp_wifi_set_mode(WIFI_MODE_STA);
esp_wifi_set_bandwidth(ESP_IF_WIFI_AP, WIFI_BW_HT20);

User avatar
hassan789
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:15 am

Re: Mesh uses HT40, this uses too many channels. Can I used HT20?

Postby hassan789 » Mon Sep 02, 2019 6:46 am

got it to work, doing the following:

Code: Select all

        ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_set_mode(WIFI_MODE_APSTA));
        ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_set_bandwidth(ESP_IF_WIFI_STA, WIFI_BW_HT20));
        ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_set_bandwidth(ESP_IF_WIFI_AP, WIFI_BW_HT20));

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests