ADF without codec

colinives
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 2:53 pm

ADF without codec

Postby colinives » Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:17 pm

My product (in development) mainly sends data direct to phones/speaker via Bluetooth a2dp. The source is wav, mp3 files (on sdcard) and program-generated tones. I have managed this part without use of the codec but I also want to capture new files received over http coded into mp3 and stored on sdcard.

Due to space constraints I don’t really have room for a codec and no need for mic/line in or wired audio out.

My questions is, what problems am I letting myself in for by dropping the codec? MP3 decode without codec is ok (tested) Any other problems in the context I’ve outlined?

Thank you.

ESP_Vikram
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: ADF without codec

Postby ESP_Vikram » Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:51 am

Code: Select all

MP3 decode without codec is ok (tested)
@colinives, what exactly do you mean by MP3 decode without codec?
If you want to decode an mp3 audio, you will need mp3_decoder, and related code will be pulled in.

Code: Select all

I have managed this part without use of the codec but I also want to capture new files received over http coded into mp3 and stored on sdcard.
This should be pretty easy.
You can mount sdcard, connect to URI using esp_http_client and store downloaded file to sdcard with some name.

colinives
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: ADF without codec

Postby colinives » Wed Mar 18, 2020 1:36 pm

Thanks for responding. I guess I'm trying to implement some audio functions with ADF but don't use the line or mic in and am happy with 8-bit internal DAC and A2DP for audio output. I have space issues and want to avoid using a codec chip if I can. I have a LyraT unit I'm which using for development and struggling to see the point of the CODEC chip but don't want to exclude it if it is critical. Sound sources are likely to only include wav, mp3 and aac.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests