esp32 idf v4 with IDE

chris007
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:03 pm

esp32 idf v4 with IDE

Postby chris007 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:22 pm

Hello
I am starting to work on the ESP32.
I have follow the getting started and success to compile all examples properly when using the windows powershell etc... This way to work is fine for running examples, but I think don't get quite practical and professional when it comes to work on serious project where debugging with break point is needed.
Now I am trying to work properly with an IDE. I have tried to use VS Code but I am not very comfortable with this IDE, so I turned to Eclipse which I find more friendly (and also reusable with other chips.. TI for example use CCS which is based on Eclipse)
1./ I am a bit confused about what I read online. Does Eclipse is fully compatible with ESP IDF v4 or does it work only with v3.3 ?
2./ To those who develop on ESP32 with V4.0 using break point, willing to access register finely etc... which IDE or process do you use ?

Thanks

ESP_kondalkolipaka
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:26 pm

Re: esp32 idf v4 with IDE

Postby ESP_kondalkolipaka » Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:37 am

Hello Chris,

Thanks for your interest.
IDF Eclipse Plugin is compatible with the ESP-IDF v4 and above versions. https://github.com/espressif/idf-eclips ... requisites
Yes, it does support JTAG debugging using GDB. https://github.com/espressif/idf-eclips ... he-project

In the process do let us know if you face any issues.

Thanks,
Kondal

chris007
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:03 pm

Re: esp32 idf v4 with IDE

Postby chris007 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 9:01 am

Hello Kondal,

Do you confirm that to debug and ESP32DevKitC with Wroom-32 module on it an extra hardware such as an ESP-PROG or a FTDI device is needed or can we debug without it using Eclipse ?

This is not very clear on my side.

ESP_kondalkolipaka
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:26 pm

Re: esp32 idf v4 with IDE

Postby ESP_kondalkolipaka » Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:04 pm

Hi Chris,

Yes, you're right we need to have a board with FTDI device for debugging.
I think this will help you. https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... w-it-works

You can use either Eclipse or terminal for debugging. Both will work.
https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... g-debugger

Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests